Norman Stands Tall at Proserpine

Norman Stands Tall at Proserpine

Author: Media/Tuesday, May 07, 2019/Categories: State News

The CQ series continued to bring explosive performances to the fore for its fourth round, as Proserpine rider Wilson Norman showed how damaging he can be on home turf.
With Round 3 at Gladstone washed out two weeks ago, the CQMX Series headed north to the Whitsunday Dirt Riders Club venue, where perfect weather conditions and a very well-prepped track greeted 198 riders, who tore straight into battle on the hard-packed, granite-based layout.
The Downing brothers - Cooper and Jackson - once again dominated their competition their respective classes. Younger brother Jackson remains unbeaten in the CQ series in the Div 2 class while Cooper has only dropped one race in the 65cc 7-9 years class.
The already stacked Mini Lites and Junior Lites 2-stroke classes got tougher again with Jackson Camilleri returning from injury. Jackson took the honours in the Mini Lites 12-16 years class ahead of Zac Watson (2nd) Kade McMartin (3rd) and Deegan Mancinelli (4th), while an honourable mention has to go out to Benjamin Pease for an exceptional show of sportsmanship after putting his own race on hold to assist a fellow competitor trapped under his bike.
The Junior Lites 2-stroke class produced some of the best racing for the series so far. Every race provided bar-to-bar action from the gate drop to the chequered flag. Multiple positional changes were made every lap amongst the top 6 riders. Deegan Mancinelli took the overall win from Jackson Camilleri (2nd), Zac Watson (3rd), Braeden Krebs (4th), Ty Soutter (5th) and Jake Duthie (6th).
In the Senior ranks hometown hero Wilson Norman pushed QMX1 and QMX2 series leader Luke Weaver all weekend in his first appearance of the series.
The pair traded wins two apiece in the in the QMX1 class, Weaver (134 points) taking the overall win by just 2 points over Norman (132 points) with Cody Hall 3rd on 122 points.
Norman took the win in QMX2 with 137 points over Weaver in 2nd (129 points) and Cody Hall third with 122 points.
A modest Women's field saw Kirra-Lee Baxter take her first win of the series over Riley Carvosso (128) and Caitlin Owers (120), to move into the lead of the CQ Women's championship.
The 2019 CQMX series moves onto Biloela on the 25th/26th of May. Online nominations will be open on Ridernet soon.

Number of views (690)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland