Drew Dominates WoW Opener

Drew Dominates WoW Opener

Author: Media/Tuesday, May 07, 2019/Categories: State News

MPE Husqvarna rider Tahlia Drew maintained the fantastic form of her impressive rookie year in seniors, winning the 2019 WoW series opener at Echo Valley on the weekend.

In the rain-shortened event, Drew carded a perfect two from two to take the early series lead from Roma dynamo Hayley Miller, who rode out of her skin for a well-deserved second step on the podium.

Taryn Cox was third from Lauren Jones, while last year's C grade winner, enduro racer Ebony Nielsen made the best of her decision to leap-frog up to A grade, with times closing in on her more experienced rivals.

As a graded series, WoW gives up-and-comers a chance to shine and show their improvement on several levels, and in the B category, it was Ivy Cross who fought off Abbey Morrice and Julie Denyer for podium supremacy, while Ash Thomson and Warwick's Brooke Williams rounded out the five.

Olivia Jinks won the C divsion from another enduro racer, Zoe Boccari, while Harmony Perry, Sidney Peach and Stephanie Maule finished the top five.

Almost 150 riders rode the WoW series opener, and the full list of results for the many support categories can be found here:

The second round of the WoW series takes place at Goondiwindi in a fortnight's time (May 18 & 19) and Series Coordinator Mel Stagg advises everyone to pack their woolies.

                 WoW Series 2019 Round 1 - Toowoomba

Senior Unlimited Female A
1 Tahlia Drew 70, 2 Hayley Miller 62, 3 Taryn Cox 62, 4 Lauren Jones 56, 5 Ebony Nielsen 52

Senior Unlimited Female B
1 Ivy Cross 65, 2 Abbey Morrice 65, 3 Julie Denyer 64, 4 Ashleigh Thomson 54, 5 Brooke Williams 54

Senior Unlimited Female C
1 Olivia Jinks 67, 2 Zoe Boccari 67, 3 Harmony Perry 60, 4 Sidney Peach 53, 5 Stephanie Maule 52

Thanks Scottya for the pics.
Riders: #243 - Drew, #702 - Cross, #T5 - Jinks


Number of views (515)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email media@mqld.org.au with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland