New Cream Rises to the Top at Dramatic Kilcoy Airoh

New Cream Rises to the Top at Dramatic Kilcoy Airoh

Author: Media/Tuesday, May 14, 2019/Categories: State News

The Airoh Sunshine State MX Series saw upsets and upheavals as it fired into its second half in its return to Kilcoy on a track which was superbly prepped and presented for the visiting riders.

The Senior ranks for Sunday’s racing saw the absence of two-class leader Kaleb Baraham (broken thumb) guarantee that two new championship leaders would come out of the weekend.

Mason Rowe come out on top in the Pro QMX1 class for Races 1 and 3 but a crash after the first corner of race 2 required him to really prove his mettle to get back to the pointy end to steal a big bag of points. In the end he did enough to take a well-deserved first-ever MX1 Pro victory - by a single point. Despite a race two win, defending Airoh series champion Joel Rizzo had his work cut out to keep his protegee Connor McNamara from overtaking him in the final results. Ryan Gaylor finished fourth in the order with Kye Orchard fifth.

The Southside Auto Action QMX2 Pro Class saw Jayce Cosford take out the win ahead of Southside Auto Auctions rider Mason Rowe, who got the better of a tie-break with Ricky Latimer, followed by Airoh Helmets supported rider Joel Evans and Lochie Latimer.

Jai Walker was a standout in the Southside Auto Action QMX2 Intermediate class, winning from Dylan Marchand and Hudson Hayward, and then ruling the roost again in the Shell Advance QMX1 Intermediate races over Sam Larsen and Jeremy Lobb.

The Airoh Helmets Veterans class saw a battle from Chris Nichols and Ben Schodel. They may be in the Over 35s ranks, but they sure put on a performance that would inspire the younger guns, with Nichols taking out Race 1 over Schodel, who then turned the tables for Race 2. With it all on the line for Race three it was Nichols who took the final race, raising himself to the top of the podium.

In the Airoh Helmets Women’s class the expected clash of series front-runners Chelsea Carter and Tahlia Drew didn’t eventuate, after Carter suffered an unfortunate injury in practice and sustained a suspected fracture in her hand. Disappointed for the absence of her rival, Drew motored to three consistent victories to open up a comfortable lead in the championship.
Lauren Jones powered to second on the podium, chased in by Ebony Nielsen (who we might have to stop referring to only as an enduro racer…), while Central Queenslander Kirra Baxter and Abbey Morrice filled out the top five.

The Five Gloves QMX 1 class saw enduro rider Harrison Teed take out the number one position after Cale Harkin had a suspension failure which caused him to DNF the first race. Races 2 and 3 saw Harkin prove his speed with two wins, but it wasn’t enough to earn a spot on the podium. Jake Huhse, Brody Barton, Jack Borg and Cleveland Lade finished the top 5 positions.

In Saturday’s junior racing, talented Yamaha No 1 Levi Rogers made an error in Race 1 which saw local riders Luke Zielinski and Logan May put their hands up. This put a dent in the perfect run Levi has had in the Corsair Vehicle Solutions Junior Lites 4/ 15 years, but he managed to salvage 22 points in Round 1. Race 2 saw him back in his favourite position.

The tables turned for the Five Gloves Junior Lites 2/ class with Rogers finishing in 1st with Zuke Zielinski, Dylan Vivian and Logan May topping the top four. Results showed that any of these skilled riders could make the most of the a racing lapse of judgement and jump into the no 1 position.

The TCX Junior Lites 4/ 13 to under 15 saw young Ryan Alexanderson take a perfect score from the round, while Brock Sleader, Kai Bonning and Charli Proudfoot battled for the minor placings.

The Pirelli Mini Lites 12 to Under 14 had Atherton’s Jesse Holding keep local Kobe Drew from the top step, with another talented North Queenslander, Braden Plath nipping at their heels. Behind them, hard-charging Charli Cannon and Jayden Binger rounded out the top five.

In the Pirelli 14-U16 class local boy Kobi Wolff led the charge on home turf, with Taylah McCutcheon finishing consistently 2nd in each race. NQ rider Zachary Watson had some great racing but had to wait for race three to claim a win for the class.

The Civil Skill Junior Lites 2/ 13 to Under 15 years saw locals Jack Mather and Ryan Alexanderson battle it out with Jack coming out on top. Kobie Wolff and Campbell O’Donnell finished the top four order of the day.

In the States MX Mini Lites 85cc 9 to under 12 close racing between Liam Owens, Jake Cannon and Heath Fisher all took turns in the lead with Cannon taking out the top podium spot. Again, in the Airoh Helmet 65cc 10 to U-12 saw Jake Cannon brought home the bacon, followed by locals Casey Wilmington and Jackson Fuller.

Round results here:

The next round sees the Series head back to Goondiwindi track.


Number of views (1355)/Comments (0)

Are you a club or rider with a story to tell?
Email with your news!

© 2014 - 2016 by Motorcycling Queensland